Home Blog The 2017 James Beard Foundation Broadcast Media Award Winners

The 2017 James Beard Foundation Broadcast Media Award Winners

May 30, 2017

The influential James Beard Foundation awards are a bit confusing. Basically, the famous U.S. organization has umbrella categories for its annual cooking-related awards, including restaurants, broadcast media, journalism, and book awards (which includes cookbooks and books about chefs, cooking techniques, and food history).

This post is about the 2017 broadcast media awards.

Why should we care?

Because television, documentaries, podcasts and radio shows about food and cooking and the direction of cooking and recipes, in the coming year or so. Yep, you heard it here.

The James Beard Foundation Media Awards were announced at an awards ceremony at Chelsea Piers in New York City, April 25, 2017. The awards gala took place in Chicago, May 1, 2017.  Also, see these related posts:  The 2017 James Beard Foundation Book Award Winners + 2017 James Beard Foundation Journalism Award Winners.For television, web, and radio programs aired in 2016.


The Birth of Saké
Director: Erik Shirai
Producer: Masako Tsumura
Airs on: iTunes, PBS, and vhx.tv + The Birth of Sake

the birth of sake


Outstanding Personality/Host

Andrew Zimmern’s Bucket List; Andrew Zimmern’s Driven by Food; Bizarre Foods with Andrew Zimmern
Airs on: Travel Channel and andrewzimmern.com


The Four Top
Host: Katherine Cole
Producers: Katherine Cole and Morgan Holm
NPR podcast Airs on: npr.org and iTunes

Radio Show/Audio Webcast

Hidden Kitchens: War & Peace & Food
Producers: The Kitchen Sisters: Davia Nelson and Nikki Silva
Airs on: NPR’s Morning Edition and npr.org

Special (TV or Web)

Lidia Celebrates America: Holiday for Heroes
Host: Lidia Bastianich
Producers: Laurie Donnelly, Lidia Bastianich, Anne Adams, and Shelly Burgess Nicotra
Airs on: PBS

Television Program, In Studio or Fixed Location

Fish the Dish
Host: Spencer Watts
Producer: Chris Knight
Airs on: Gusto and gustotv.com

fish the dish

Spencer Watts, Fish The Dish

Television Program, on Location

Chef’s Table
Producers: David Gelb, Brian McGinn, Matthew Weaver, Andrew Fried, and Dane Lillegard
Airs on: Netflix

Television Segment

Harvesting Alaska
Hosts: Heather Hintze and Lauren Maxwell
Producer: Gina Romero
Airs on: KTVA Anchorage and ktva.com

Video Webcast, Fixed Location and/or Instructional

Kitchen Conundrums with Thomas Joseph
Host: Thomas Joseph
Producers: Samantha Schutz and Greta Anthony
Airs on: marthastewart.com and YouTube (Everyday Foods)

Video Webcast, on Location

Working 24 Hours at…
Director: Joe Williams
Host: Andrew Knowlton
Producer: Meghan Scibona
Airs on bonappetit.comvideo.bonappetit.com

Visual and Technical Excellence

Director and Photographer: James Mann
Editors: Aaron Warzynski and James Fitzpatrick
Airs on: tastemade.com

Uncharted, tastemade

*This year’s James Beard Broadcast Media Awards ceremony was held at New York’s Chelsea Piers. The James Beard Awards Gala took place in Chicago on May 1, 2017.

*Who was James Beard? From The James Beard Foundation: “A cookbook author and teacher with an encyclopedic knowledge about food, the late James Beard was a champion of American cuisine… Known as the Oscars of the food world, the James Beard Awards cover all aspects of the industry: chefs and restaurateurs, cookbook authors and food journalists, restaurant designers and architects, and more. The James Beard Awards are the highest honor for food and beverage professionals in America.”  For a complete list of this year’s winners, click here.

Sources: Food & Wine; James Beard Foundation


You may also like

I'm a member of Food Blogger Pro. Learn how to start and grow your food blog.
%d bloggers like this: